Textures #10


Girl: What shall we do today?

Porcupine: Go on an adventure!

Girl: I don’t want to go on an adventure. You always take me to the meadows by the lake. I don’t want to get muddy and wet!

Porcupine: But it will be fun, I promise. We’ll see the bumblebees and then blow dandelions in the grass and we’ll make mud pies.

Girl: I like dandelions, they are funny! But you promise we won’t get muddy? 

Porcupine: I cannot promise that! Mud pies are mud pies and if you don’t get your hands deep in the mud, where’s the fun? There’s no feeling like rolling about in the grass with the sun on your face and your clothes all dirty from a good day’s fun.

Girl: But it’s not fair! Mummy will get upset if I come home like that. She doesn’t understand fun; only you do, porcupine.

Porcupine: The adults, you see, they’ve lost their ability to see beyond crisp white clothes and empty hearts. But you and I, we’re not like them. We won’t let that happen to us.

Girl: Yes! I won’t let that happen. Let’s make a pinky promise. Let’s promise we’ll always build fortresses with branches and leaves and we’ll follow the ants wherever they go and help the snails stay out of trouble and collect oddly shaped rocks. Will you help me do that, porcupine?

Porcupine: Of course I will! What are friends for? Come on, let’s find some reeds and I’ll make us some rings. That way we will never forget our promise.

Girl: I love you, porcupine.

Porcupine: I love you too, my darling.

 

Leave a Reply

